Sat. Jul 20th, 2024


The Clinton Democratic Club introduced its members to the 2016-2017 Executive Board and Board of Trustees on Wednesday, April 6 at Trattoria 35 in Bayside, Queens. Queens Borough President Melinda Katz conducted the swearing-in ceremony and congratulated the newly elected officers who are: Executive Board: President – Chuck Apelian; Vice President – Marsha Kahn; Secretary – Christine Coniglio; Treasurer – Michael Serao; Media & Public Relations and Recording Secretary – Breeana Mulligan; Membership Chair – Malini Shah; Sergeant at Arms – Greg Farren; Board of Directors: Roxane Carrabis; Mary Conaty; Lauren Cornea; Joe Femenia; Laura Femenia; Gary Jacobowitz; Mackey Kahn; Bernie Karoff; Carolyn Karoff; Debra Markell; Lionel Morales; Richard Rapp; Warren Schreiber ;Vito Tautonico; Past Presidents: John Dorsa; Council Member Paul Vallone; District Leader and Executive Member: Mary Ann Dorsa.

In addition to hosting the swearing-in, Borough President Katz updated members on the happenings of Queens and urged members to contact her office if they experience any troubles. The Borough President also discussed her great working partnership with Council Member Vallone and how their work together shows if elected officials unite, great work can be done for their shared constituency.

Council Member Vallone thanked Borough President Katz for the kind words and for her leadership in Queens. The Council Member added a good example of government working together when the two stood together last Tuesday with the New York City Police Department as the NYPD officially unveiled the much anticipated neighborhood based policing program, which the 109th will expand as they increase the influx the number of officers to keep Northeast Queens even safer. Council Member Vallone also detailed the success of year two of participatory budgeting as his office received over 4,500 votes; he told all members to stay tuned for the results later in the month.

The Clinton Democratic Club also welcomed candidates for outgoing Congressman Steve Israel’s seat – Councilwoman Anna Kaplan of North Hempstead and Legislator Steve Stern of Suffolk County. Both candidates detailed their respective priorities of their campaigns and hoped to preserve Congressman Israel’s legacy by continuing issues important to his constituents such as issues concerning veterans and seniors. President Chuck Apelian and Council Member Vallone urged members to vote for any of the qualified candidates in this June’s primary to keep this seat blue.

The Clinton Democratic Club will hold its next meeting on Wednesday, May 4th at Vivaldi Ristorante (201-10 Cross Island Pkwy, Bayside, NY 11360). Queens Parks Commissioner Dorothy Lewandowski will be updating members on all summer events and ongoing capital projects in Northeast Queens and the newly created neighborhood community officers from the 109th Precinct will be explaining their new roles in the community.


The Clinton Democratic Club

Chuck Apelian, President

Honorable Paul A. Vallone, Immediate Past President

Honorable Mary Ann Dorsa, District Leader

John Dorsa, Past President

Marsha Kahn, Vice President

Christine Coniglio, Secretary

Michael Serao, Treasurer

Breeana Mulligan, Media & Public Relations

Malini Shah, Membership Chair


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *