Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

A Royal decree has been issued to grant Saudi citizenship to a number of scientists, medical doctors, researchers, innovators, entrepreneurs, and distinguished talents with unique expertise and specializations.

The announcement aligns with the Kingdom’s initiative to attract experts and exceptional global talents in religious, medical, scientific, cultural, sports, and technological fields.

This move supports Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030 goal of creating an attractive environment that fosters the retention and investment in exceptional creative minds.

This decree is an extension of the Kingdom’s ongoing efforts to attract prominent talents whose expertise contributes significantly to economic development, health, culture, sports, and innovation.

A similar Royal decree was issued in 2021 to grant Saudi citizenship to the first group of select distinguished talents in these fields.

Asharq Al-Awsat newspaper reported on several notable individuals who have been granted Saudi citizenship by the recent royal decree. Among them is Mehmood Khan, an American and the CEO of the Hevolution Foundation, recognized for his contributions to the health sciences.

Jackie Yi-Ru Ying, an American scientist of Singaporean origin, has also been granted Saudi citizenship. Ying was the founding Executive Director of the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology in Singapore and currently leads the NanoBio Lab.

Lebanese scientist Niveen Khashab has been honored with Saudi citizenship for her advanced scientific expertise and contributions to bioengineering and nanomaterials. Khashab is a founding member of King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) and has been an Associate Professor of Chemical Sciences and Engineering there since 2009.

Noreddine Ghaffour, a French scientist, has been recognized for his expertise in environmental science and engineering, particularly in desalination technologies. Holding a PhD in membrane separation techniques from the University of Montpellier, Ghaffour is a Professor at KAUST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *